Scholary Fund

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships

Last updated: Nov 9, 2023

Share this on:


Target: Commonwealth Countries,

Award Value: Fully Funded,

Host Institution: Approved Commonwealth Institutions


Nov/Dec & Mar/Apr Cycles

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth ScholarshipsApplications are currently being invited from students who are citizens of Commonwealth countries for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships. It is a unique opportunity to study a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country, experience a new country and culture, broaden your horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

These scholarships are fully funded Master’s scholarships for international students covering full tuition fees, living allowance, return tickets, arrival allowance and research grant.

Scholarship Description

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) is put together by the Association of Commonwealth Countries (ACU), aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, to gain a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, broaden their horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

The scholarships help to bring about positive changes and find solutions. It is to be awarded in Low and Middle-income Commonwealth Countries to the citizens of these countries who are eligible. QECS awards are only those currently listed on the website. If a country/university is not on the website, that means they are not a host for the current cycle of awards.

Award Value

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are fully funded to cover:

  • Fully-funded tuition fees.
  • Living allowance (stipend) for duration of award.
  • Return economy flights to host country.
  • One-off arrival allowance.
  • Research Support Grant (on request only; subject to approval)

See Also: Émile Boutmy Scholarships at Sciences Po in France

Level and Area of Studies

Two years Master’s in many Disciplines

Place of Study

Host Countries: Bangladesh, eSwatini, Ghana, Kenya, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mauritius, Pakistan, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda

  • University of Dhaka
  • University of Eswatini
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, (KNUST), Kumasi, Ghana
  • The University of the West Indies
  • Technical University of Kenya
  • University of Nairobi
  • University of Malaya
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
  • University of Mauritius
  • COMSATS University Islamabad
  • University of Rwanda
  • The State University of Zanzibar
  • Makerere University

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must check their eligibility for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships on the official website to ensure they:

  • Meet the Language Requirement of their intended University/country of study.
  • Are Eligible Citizens of the listed commonwealth country.
  • Have the requisite bachelor’s degree for the course(s) applied for.
  • Are aware that he or she is going to study in a lower or middle-income country.

You May Also Like: East West Center-Pacific Islands Leadership Program (PILP)

Application Procedure

It is important that candidates applying for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships review thoroughly the general and specific steps required for each of the listed Countries / Universities and their respective available courses on the official website before they apply.

Website and Application Link


Share on:

Scroll to Top