Scholary Fund

Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award – Worldwide

Last updated: Jul 18, 2022

Share this on:


Target: All Countries,

Award Value: Not Stated,

Host Institution: Thomson Foundation, UK


August 12

Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award - WorldwideThomson Foundation, in celebrating 60 years of promoting excellence in journalism and to mark the occasion, is offering six rising stars the chance to connect with six of the best journalists in the industry as part of our prestigious Young Journalist Award 2022.

Award Description

This year’s Young Journalist Award will be extra special for another reason, too, being that it will be the first time in two years that three finalists will be able to attend the glittering ceremony in London in person. The pandemic of the past two years has meant finalists could only attend virtually.

For the Thomson Foundation 60th anniversary, there’s an added bonus which called ‘Connect 6’. To mark six decades of the foundation, the three finalists as well as the next three highest shortlisted will have the opportunity to be mentored for six months by six established journalists from the foundation’s alumni.

See Also:  Miles Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers

Sponsor Organization

Thomson Foundation, UK and partner organizations – worldwide.

Level and Area of Specialty

Young Journalists in any medium – print, audio, video or multimedia.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

How it works: Now in its 10th year, the Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award in partnership with the UK Foreign Press Association (FPA) is open to:

  • Journalists aged 30 or under from countries with a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita of less than $20,000.
  • Those who meet the criteria are welcome to submit a portfolio of three published pieces of work produced in the 12 months preceding the deadline for submissions, which is 12 August.
  • Journalists who can be in any medium — print, audio, video, or multimedia.

A panel of Thomson Foundation judges will tackle the substantial task of scouring through hundreds of entries, for stories that are revelatory, prompt public debate, and have led to, or have the potential to lead to, positive change in society.

After the shortlist of the 12, the final decisions to the international supreme court. Last year, three independent FPA judges were welcomed from Spain, Denmark, and Bangladesh. This year’s external judges are Michael Crick, a British journalist for more than 30 years, who was also a founding member of Channel 4 News, Stryker McGuire, former senior editor at Bloomberg Markets, and Megha Mohan, the BBC’s first gender and identity correspondent.

The chair of the FPA judges will be Alessandro Allocca, a freelance journalist working for the Italian daily newspaper, La Repubblica.

Check Also:  German Bondestag International Parliamentary Scholarships

Application Procedure

How-To-Apply: Eligible applicants can apply at the official webpage of the Thomson Foundation by filling the entry form.

Key dates

Deadline for entries: 12th August

Long shortlist of 12 announcement: 28th September World News Day

Shortlist of six announcement: w/c 3rd October

Three finalists announcement: w/c 10th October

Young Journalist Award winner announcement: 28th November, FPA Awards

Website and Application Link


Share on:

Scroll to Top