Scholary Fund

Daniel Pearl Fellowship for Muslim Journalists

Last updated: Jul 8, 2021

Share this on:



Updated Yearly
  • Target: The citizens of selected countries
  • Benefits: Full fellowship
  • Level and Discipline: Non – degree program in journalism field
  • Host Institution: Any institution – USA
  • Deadline: 31 August every year

The Daniel Pearl Fellowship is sponsored by Alfred Friendly Press Partners. This program is exclusively targeted to Muslim journalists from defined developing countries. By participating in this program, fellows will be equiped with journalism skill to advance their professionalism in that field. Entries are accepted no later than 31 August annually.

Fellowship Description
Sharing the same goals, the Daniel Pearl Foundation partnered with Press Partners in 2003 to offer special fellowships to honor the life and work of journalist Daniel Pearl, The Wall Street Journal South Asia bureau chief who was kidnapped and murdered in Pakistan in 2002. Daniel Pearl Fellows – 12 from Pakistan, four from Egypt, two from Malaysia and one from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Tunisia, Turkey and Yemen – have worked at the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, ProPublica, San Francisco Chronicle, Houston Chronicle, Huffington Post (DC bureau), and The Wall Street Journal (Atlanta, New York and DC bureaus), along with smaller news outlets such as The Berkshire Eagle.

Award Value
The fellowship covers all costs of program – related international and domestic U.S. travel, health insurance and provides a monthly stipend to cover basic living expenses. It is highly recommended that fellows bring additional money with them. While family members may visit for up to one month, they cannot accompany the fellow for the duration of the fellowship.

Level and Area of Studies
Non – degree program in journalism field.

Place of Study
In the United States of America.

Eligibility and Criteria
Please go to the link below to see detail information of the requirement and specific criteria of this Daniel Pearl Fellowship Program.

Applicants’ Nationality
Only the citizens of one these countries may apply: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, the Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, UAE and Yemen.

Application Instruction
Please download and complete the application form at the link below.

Submission Deadline
31 August every year.

Website and Application Link


Share on:

Scroll to Top